Skip to main navigation Skip to main content Skip to page footer

Department of History and Archaeology


The Department of History and Archeology is one of the 13 Departments of the School of Philosophy of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens. The Department consists of two Sections:

  • the Department of History
  • the Department of Archeology and History of Art.

It also features:

  • the Museum of Archeology and History of Art, including the Archaeological Park Unit, the Conservation Unit and the Digital Photographic Applications Unit.
  • the Laboratory of Historical Research and Documentation, including the Unit of the Digital Recording of the Public and Private Life of the Byzantines (4th - 15th century).
  • the Laboratory of Archeology and Art History, including the Environmental Archeology Unit, the History of Archaeology Unit and the Art History Unit.
  • the IT Unit and the Digital Teaching Room, which belong to both departmental Laboratories.