Skip to main navigation Skip to main content Skip to page footer

Department of History and Archaeology


European Master of Classical Cultures

Responsible: Assoc. Prof. Sophia Aneziri and Assist. Prof. Nikolas Dimakis

The European Master in Classical Cultures -(EMCC)- is an international European program in classical studies, wherein participate 11 universities from eight European countries (list of universities and their respective leaders below).

In the context of this program, the possibility is provided for the participating students to study in at least two of the collaborating university institutions and in addition - if they wish - to write their diploma thesis under the supervision of professors from two different universities. Students who are selected to study in the "European Master in Classical Cultures" are awarded a Double or Multiple Diploma upon completion of their studies. It was a basic principle from the beginning to respect the specificities of the already valid regulations and operating conditions of the postgraduate programs of the participating Universities.

More information on the study structure, admission requirements and applications at or the university coordinators.

Collaborating Universities

  1. National and Kapodistrian University of Athens / Department of History and Archaeology
  2. Westfälische Wilhelms Universität Münster Seminar für Alte Geschichte / Institut für Epigraphik
  3. Leopold-Franzens-Universität Innsbruck / Institut für Alte Geschichte und Altorientalistik
  4. Istanbul Üniversitesi / Seminar für Alte Geschichte im Rahmen des Instituts für Geschichte
  5. Università degli Studi di Perugia / Dipartimento di Scienze Storiche
  6. Uiwersystet im. Adam Mickiewicza, Poznan / Historisches Institut
  7. Universität Hamburg / Historisches Seminar – Arbeitsbereich Alte Geschichte
  8. Universität Freiburg / Archäologisches Seminar
  9. Università degli Studi di Roma Tre / Dipartimento di studi sul mondo antico
  10. University of Cyprus / Faculty of Classics and Philosophy
  11. Université Toulouse Le Mirail / Département d'histoire ancienne
  12. Universidad La Coruňa
  13. Deutsches Archäologisches Institut (DAI) Rom (Prof. Dr. Fr. Flers and Prof. Dr. Ort. Dally)
  14. Universidad de Valladoid
  15. Universita degli studi di Palermo
  16. Universidad de Salamanca