English homepage » Postgraduate Studies » European Programmes


Mediterranean Doctoral School in History

Prof. A. Liakos

The Mediterranean Doctoral School in History (MDSH) was created in summer 2010 by the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Boğaziçi University Istanbul, Ecole Normale Supérieure de Paris, Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudes, Universidad Pablo de Olavide de Sevilla, and Università Ca' Foscari Venezia. The administrative seat of the MDSH is at the University Ca' Foscari of Venice.

The purpose of the MDSH is to provide advanced level training in research and the appropriate skills to exercise research and professional activities of high quality in universities, institutions in the public and private sectors. It partly relies on the tradition of the former European Doctorate in the Social History of Europe and the Mediterranean «Building on the Past» (2001-2009).

The training and research activity of the School is based on the mobility of postgraduate students and teaching staff. Postgraduate students from the partner universities spend one academic year - normally the second of their doctoral training - at one or two of the foreign partner universities, participating in the host institution's doctoral training program at the same conditions holding for local postgraduate fellows. The host institutions provide qualified research supervision for the period of mobility. They also support co-tutelle agreements and the creation of the conditions for conferring the Doctor Europaeus.

Athens, Istanbul, Paris, Seville and Venice represent five chiefly important sites for Mediterranean history, memory and archives. The MDSH promotes preferably, albeit not exclusively, comparative research and enquiries in the history of cross-border transfers and overseas relations in the Mediterranean area, comprising the relations of this area with other world regions.

More information: http://www.unive.it/nqcontent.cfm?a_id=77333 



European Master of Classical Cultures

Departmental Coordinators: Prof. K. Buraselis, Assist. Prof. S. Aneziri

The European Master of Classical Cultures (EMCC) is a European postgraduate program, uniting sixteen European universities of nine European countries in the common plan to create a coordinated course of Master’s studies in the field of the Classics (Ancient History, Classical Philology, Classical Archaeology and adjacent disciplines). Students admitted to the program «European Master in Classical Cultures», must follow the legal provisions of the host university. They will complete all course requirements and the regulations about these courses at no fewer than two and no more than three universities. They must also acquire a minimum of 30 ETCS points at each of two partner universities of different national languages. Students who have validated 120 ECTS credits according to existing regulations will receive a double or a multiple degree and a diploma supplement.

For more information visit www.eu-classical-cultures.eu or consult the departmental coordinators.

Affiliated Universities

  1. National and Kapodistrian University of Athens / Department of History and Archaeology
  2. Westfälische Wilhelms Universität Münster Seminar für Alte Geschichte / Institut für Epigraphik
  3. Leopold-Franzens-Universität Innsbruck / Institut für Alte Geschichte und Altorientalistik
  4. Istanbul Üniversitesi / Seminar für Alte Geschichte im Rahmen des Instituts für Geschichte
  5. Università degli Studi di Perugia / Dipartimento di Scienze Storiche
  6. Uiwersystet im. Adam Mickiewicza, Poznan / Historisches Institut
  7. Universität Hamburg / Historisches Seminar – Arbeitsbereich Alte Geschichte
  8. Universität Freiburg / Archäologisches Seminar
  9. Università degli Studi di Roma Tre / Dipartimento di studi sul mondo antico
  10. University of Cyprus / Faculty of Classics and Philosophy
  11. Université Toulouse Le Mirail / Département d'histoire ancienne
  12. Universidad La Coruňa
  13. Deutsches Archäologisches Institut (DAI) Rom (Prof. Dr. Fr. Flers and Prof. Dr. Ort. Dally)
  14. Universidad de Valladoid
  15. Universita degli studi di Palermo
  16. Universidad de Salamanca



European MA in the Political and Cultural History of Medieval, Modern and Contemporary Europe

Departmental Coordinator: Ass. Prof. K. Gardikas

Affiliated Universities

1.  École Pratique des Hautes Études, Paris

2. Instituto Superior de Ciància do Trabalho e da Empresa of Lisbon

3. National and Κapodistrian University of Athens

4. Università degli Studi di Pisa

5.  Universidad Pablo de Olavide of Sevilla

This is a two-year program. The students, who must already be admitted to the MA programme of their University, spend the second year of their studies at one of the other Universities, or alternatively, the third and fourth semester at two of the other Universities. The program is supported by the European Erasmus program. The evaluation of applications is made by a committee consisting of representatives of the five Universities.



Postgraduate Seminar for the Study of the Library of the Patriarchate of Alexandreia

Departmental Coordinator: Ass. Professor M. Efthymiou

The Department of History and Archaeology of the University of Athens in collaboration with the Palaeographical Archive of the National Bank of Greece Cultural Foundation, organized postgraduate activities for the study of the very significant Library of the Patriarchate of Alexandreia. A group of five postgraduate students under the guidance of Maria Euthymiou, Associate Professor of Contemporary History, visited the library in Alexandreia and studied material in the Archives and the Library of the Patriarchate. Other visits are planned for the following years. Efforts are being made to turn these postgraduate activities into a regular program.